Choke

Weightless soul
Lifts from the body
Tuck and fold
Finite atrophy

The drums stop
The warmth turns to ice
Skin sleeve, drop
Splice, excise and rise

Air so thick
I can’t breathe it in
Gasping, thin
I see myself kick

Perplexion
Corporeal laxity
Where’s heaven?
Where’s my cavalry?

Flesh and bones
They hold no power
You’re alone
In the last hour

Breathe
My mind gives queue
But I refuse

Breathe
I am in control
But rather let go

Breathe
I want to see
The tree of life

To sprout again
Ascend and mend
The faulted meter
To conquer fear

Avail my strife
Make it mine
Quit the quill
A waste of time
Breathe

So simple
Mundane
No pill
Can make you sane

Choke

Croak at the crack
Of the devil’s whip
You can’t turn back
From the life you’ve lived

Choke

Hand me the rope
Make it quick
This slippery slope
Makes me sick

End
But I breathe again

Choke

 

(Art Credit: Self; Jenny Toupin)

Leave a comment